The country achieved independence from France in 1960. 
Therefore they now speak french. 
In 1984, Thomas Sankara’s revolutionary government changed the name
Uppa volta to …., therefore discarding the name, which brought shame. 

This country is landlocked in west Africa. It covers an area 
of around 274,200 square kilometres and is surrounded by six countries: Mali to the north and west; Niger to the east; Benin to the southeast; Togo to the southeast; Ghana to the south; and Ivory Coast to the southwest.